The End is Nigh (or not)

Socorro was not in the pathway for a total eclipse; however, the partial eclipse was still pretty amazing. I woke up to heavy cloud cover and figured that today was going to be a bust. Just before the start of the eclipse, however, the clouds started to move and by the time the eclipse began at 11:14 am, the sun was visible again.

A friend in town set up her spotting scope with the requisite filter and took some photos with her phone (see below). I set up my gravity chair on the deck, put on my eclipse glasses, and kicked back to watch.

11:30 am

11:43 am

12:08 pm

Maximum eclipse for Socorro – 12:28 pm

1:18 pm

As the eclipse progressed the winds here picked up and the temperatures dropped (I came in for a jacket.) Since it wasn’t a total eclipse here I didn’t notice any behavior changes in the dogs or other animals.


Leave a comment