Warm and fuzzy . . . NOT

I had bought two does exposed to bucks in May. Just Charmin kidded out a week ago this past Thursday. My absolute least favorite part of owning goats is disbudding. I have tried using a paste, which produced hit and miss results (heavily weighted to the miss), and banding, more successful IF bands are replaced promptly when they break. Last year I finally ordered a disbudding iron. The first one was damaged when I opened the box and by the time the replacement arrived it was too late for a successful disbudding of the kids. I should have disbudded Charmin’s kids, or at least the buckling, no later than Monday morning, but he was so small I put it off. Then the usual number of things happened so it wasn’t until last evening that I managed to disbud both kids and give them CDT vaccinations to guard against tetanus. It was a miserable experience for all concerned and I am hoping that it was successful and we didn’t all go through the trauma for naught. Evidently from what I’ve read and heard, Nigerian Dwarfs are the hardest of all the dairy goats to disbud and the bucklings are the hardest, with most developing scurs even at the best of times.

This came on the heels of the second doe, who never bagged up so I wasn’t sure she had been bred, suddenly going into labor Thursday late afternoon. Luckily I was home as I ended up having to pull a kid – which was stillborn. Buttons still isn’t out of the woods yet so I’m hoping I don’t lose her as well.

I enjoy the farm and the various animals. There is nothing cuter than a goat kid sproinging about. However, there is a downside to breeding any animals — the very real likelihood of not only the loss of the offspring but also the dam. WHO estimated that in 2015 303,000 women would die from complications of pregnancy or childbirth. Actually, I’m always surprised at the low number of complications I’ve had with my sheep and goats over the years when one considers all of the things that could go wrong.

 

Leave a Reply

