Last but not Least

I calculated the date for Nutmeg to kid on September 27. This morning however she was crying when I fed and I suspected she might be going into labor. I was scheduled to drive the truck up to Los Lunas, about 55 miles, to get new tires on the truck and on the trailer (those tires were in the bed of the truck). While I briefly considered rescheduling, it was something that really needed to be dealt with and I wasn’t 100% sure Nutmeg was actually going to kid today. When I got home early this afternoon, I checked and she was still vocal but had eaten most of her hay. This evening just as I was heading out to feed, she started screaming. I ran out and found her cleaning off a kid. She no longer seemed in distress so I went ahead and started chores. When I got back from the barn she had a second kid on the ground. It looked like the placenta was starting to be passed so I figured she was done. After chores I came in to get the sling, scale and betadine to dip cords.

First Born - Doeling just over 2 lbs

First Born – Doeling just over 2 lbs

Second doeling - just under 2.5 lbs

Second doeling – just under 2.5 lbs

After weighing kids I left everyone alone and came back in the house. A short time later Nutmeg started screaming again. I figured she was having contractions trying to pass the placenta but went out to check. It turned out that she was passing more than the placenta.

Cleaning off the third kid

Cleaning off the third kid

Triplets. While I won’t bet more than a couple of bucks on it, it looks like all three are doelings. I’ll check again tomorrow morning after the third one is cleaned up.

Third kid was 2.5 lbs

Third kid was 2.5 lbs

So the final tally for kids in 2016 is nine kids.

2 comments

  1. oh….EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE…. if it were 3 doelings???????????? oh and what LUCK!….even two tho,
    HAPPY to read this….SunnyRay did GOOD!!!! Now to get some one in the Doe in Milk sold, yes? You
    will be up to your ears in MILK. But that they all made it and are healthy. YES. Let us know as soon
    as you can.


Leave a Reply

