And Life Goes On

I weaned Thyme’s and Spice’s kids about a week ago so now am milking twice a day to develop their udders as both are first fresheners. Thyme is giving me a respectable amount of milk, especially given her age and that she only had a single kid. Spice is exceeding my expectations for a first freshener and I have hope that she will be as good a milker as her dam. Chai will go on the milk stand for the first time in the next few days. She is still nursing her kid so I’m not expecting a lot. I’m drying off Nutmeg. She should be bred and if so, will be due the end of September. I could keep her milking for another month, but she has been in milk for over 11 months now and I have plenty of milk (more than enough) so taking her out of the milk schedule makes my life a little easier.

A short while ago I put Thyme up for sale as well as the three weaned kids. A couple of days ago, Spice’s twins went off to their new home.

Looking pretty pleased with their new digs

Looking pretty pleased with their new digs

2 comments


Leave a Reply

