April Fool or Just a Fool?

My intent was to wait until I had successfully raised the two American Guinea Hogs to butcher weight before obtaining more hogs. However, the gentleman I obtained Hamlock and Ham-let from is making plans to leave the state and is selling off his remaining hogs. I have not found anyone in New Mexico with registered AGH and almost everyone I located with AGH are crossing their hogs with Ossawa Island Hogs. This meant that if I wanted AGH I was going to need to either go out of state or buy more from my original source before he sold everything off.

After giving it some thought, I decided to go ahead and buy more hogs now. So Quibeyn Farm is now home to three additional American Guinea Hogs – two young gilts (unbred females) and a very young boar (intact male). The boar is too small to be safe on pasture so I decided to keep him in the lambing jugs, which have a hog panel front, until he is larger. I duly placed him in the lambing jugs and gave him water, some goat milk and some hog feed as well as some hay. Since hogs are social and I was concerned about him maintaining his body heat at night, I decided to also put the younger and smaller gilt in with him. In the length of time it took me to walk to the pasture, pick up the gilt and bring her back to the animal pens, the boar had found a way out. After depositing the gilt in the new pig quarters, I started looking for the boar. I found him running around the horse corral with my horse standing stock still with a WTF expression on her face. I climbed over the corral fence and scooped him up. He escaped twice more but stayed close to the pen with the gilt and since I have no idea how he got through the hog panel, all I could do was hope that he didn’t go AWOL during the night. Since it froze last night I was doubly glad that he spent the night snuggled up to the gilt in the hay I dumped in a tub for them to use as a shelter.

I’ll run a naming contest starting this weekend – since these are not going to the butcher (or at least not in the foreseeable future) I’m looking for non-food names.

Ham-let in front / older gilt (to be named) following

Ham-let in front / older gilt (to be named) following

Hamlock

Hamlock

Larger gilt (born in October 2015)

Larger gilt (born in October 2015)

Boar (just weaned) and younger gilt (born in December 2015)

Boar (just weaned) and younger gilt (born in December 2015)

2 comments


Leave a Reply

