Eighteen and counting

I thought one of the ewes was in labor Saturday but no lambs. Sunday she was again showing signs of being in labor but again no lambs. I worried all day Monday about her, especially given the size the lambs have been so far this year but when I got home, again no lambs. Early this afternoon, however, she finally decided she had had enough and I went out to find her cleaning off a lamb. The lamb looked much smaller than any of the other lambs but it seemed fine – up and trying to nurse while the ewe was alternating cleaning it off and pawing and circling, signs of another lamb to come. In short order, a second lamb was produced and I went in to let the ewe clean off both lambs before I weighed and dipped cords. When I went back out, the ewe was still exhibiting behaviors I associate with lambing. While I was observing her, she circled around and I saw two hooves – but back hooves and not front ones. I applied gentle traction and a third lamb slid out into my hands. I let the ewe clean off the third lamb while I weighed and dipped cords on the first two. Lamb one was an 8 lb ewe lamb and the second, also a ewe lamb, weighed 9 lbs. Lamb three was three for three, but 10 lbs.

20160216_134749-1_resized

In keeping with this year’s tradition of color, lamb 2 has two small black spots on her neck/shoulder and a small black patch on her left eye and larger black patch on her right eye.20160216_134801-1_resized

So while I was weighing lambs, another ewe delivered a lamb. After a delay, she also had a lamb present backwards. Her lambs were both ram lambs, weighing 10.5 and 10 lbs.

20160216_151830_resized

All but three ewes have now lambed with 18 lambs on the ground. Ten ewe lambs and eight ram lambs.

One comment


Leave a Reply

