2016 Lamb Contest now closed

a storm is predicted, and the sheep have started lambing earlier than expected.

When I went out to feed this morning there was a ewe standing apart from the rest and at her feet was a gorgeous brown lamb. As soon as I fed, while the other ewes were munching away, I moved the new mom and her little one to the lambing jugs which I hastily set up.

First 2016 Lamb

First 2016 Lamb

Unfortunately, it was not only a single (I only keep lambs from multiple births) but also a ram. 20160130_101359_resized

While I was in the process of setting up the lambing jugs I saw another ewe start to exhibit behaviors indicative of lambing, and sure enough, when I got back from my second trip out to the barn there was another lamb on the ground being cleaned off by an attentive mom. While I was weighing the first ram lamb (a whopping 12 pounds) and dipping his cord, the second ewe delivered a second lamb. I moved mom and her twins to the lambing jugs and left her to finish cleaning them up before going back out to weigh lambs and dip cords. Photos to follow.

One comment


Leave a Reply

