Garden Tower

My Earth Boxes are great but. . . my breakfast room isn’t terribly large so my gardening efforts are limited. So when the Garden Tower Project was giving away a free Garden Tower at the end of the year, I entered. I didn’t win (no big surprise there) but I did get a good discount on a Garden Tower so I scrapped my budget and bought one of the new and improved versions of the Garden Tower to set up inside. Rather than a one piece barrel construction of the original version, this one is manufactured in pieces. The spaces to plant are larger and are easier to access; but the new feature I really like is that the new Garden Tower rotates.

The Garden Tower arrived last week so I went out and bought some casters and then went down to the local lumbar store and had a piece of plywood cut to use as a base for a dolly. I took the outer packaging to use as a template to ensure the plywood was the right size (but . . . forgot that the Garden Tower has feet which extend out from the base, oops). Once I put the casters on, I was ready to put the Garden Tower together.

First a tarp since this is inside and water and dirt is involved.

First a tarp since this is inside and water and dirt is involved.

Then the dolly. I was anxious to get the Tower assembled and was thinking it was going to be inside so the wood didn't need to be treated. Another oops. I should have painted or varnished it but too late now.

Then the dolly. I was anxious to get the Tower assembled and was thinking it was going to be inside so the wood didn’t need to be treated. Another oops. I should have painted or varnished it but too late now.

Then the base. Perfectly sized (as long as I didn't put the feet on.)

Then the base. Perfectly sized (as long as I didn’t put the feet on.)

As you can see, there is a drawer in it to catch water and to empty the compost tube. From the top you can see the center compost tube.

As you can see, there is a drawer in it to catch water and to empty the compost tube. From the top you can see the center compost tube.

A few more rings added.

A few more rings added.

The compost tube in the center.

The compost tube in the center.

The Garden Tower completed. The zip ties hold the compost tube in place so when the potting mix is poured in, the tube stays centered.

The Garden Tower completed. The zip ties hold the compost tube in place so when the potting mix is poured in, the tube stays centered.

The Tower ready to plant.

The Tower ready to plant.

I followed the instructions to the letter and found that the amount of water to add to the Garden Tower as potting mix is added is way, way too much water. I was emptying out the drawer fairly frequently to keep it from flooding the room.

I followed the instructions to the letter and found that the amount of water to add to the Garden Tower as potting mix is added is way, way too much water. I was emptying out the drawer fairly frequently to keep it from flooding the room.

I did have a few more acorn squash as well as some started radishes and lettuces, and some onions so I’ve started planting and photographs will be coming soon.

One comment


Leave a Reply

