Dinner anyone?

My spaghetti squash has been dutifully putting forth blossoms over the last few weeks. Initially all the blossoms were male but I finally found a female blossom and set to work to hand pollinate it. Squashes, unlike tomatoes, have male and female flowers and in the absence of bees or other insects that travel from blossom to blossom transferring pollen, growing indoors means that the gardener (me in this case) has to do the pollination.

Female blossom

Female blossom

Male blossom

Male blossom

A few more female blossoms appeared but no signs of squash and after much worry on my part that I had not effectively pollinated them, I finally found three small squashes.

squash 1

squash 2

squash 3

One comment


Leave a Reply

