White Christmas – a day late

Christmas Day was warm enough to do chores without a jacket. However, the winds were ferocious. The weather forecast was for a winter storm over the weekend and Socorro County was predicted to receive 8-12 inches of snow while parts of Eastern New Mexico were expected to receive up to a couple of feet. So this morning when I let the dogs out and saw a flake of snow here and there on the deck I laughed. However, the skies were gray and gloomy so I did take the precaution of making sure I was home by noon. As I was driving home from the feed store a flake of snow hit my windshield. Pretty soon it was snowing in earnest and it kept on snowing throughout the afternoon. It stopped for about 10 minutes in late afternoon but was snowing again when I went out to feed this evening. Roughly four inches on the ground now. Currently I’m housebound until the snow starts to melt as I have learned from experience that my car can’t navigate the driveway when I get more than three inches of snow.

Behind the house

Behind the house

South

South

North

North

The old dog still likes to play in the snow

The old dog still likes to play in the snow

20151226_164756_resized (2)

Kip

Kip

Towards the Barn

Towards the Barn

Tuck

Tuck

Tuck

Tuck

Leave a Reply

