A Walk on the Wild Side

Six years and nine months after moving to Quibeyn Farm, the last of the perimeter fencing has finally been completed. The materials to erect a fence are expensive and the actual job of fencing is hard, dirty work. So over the past years I have done fencing as time and funds permit. After putting up about 3500 feet of fencing with a friend a couple of years ago I decided I was too old to do the rest of the fencing so my budget increased to include the cost of hiring labor.

A couple of years ago I fenced the last section of perimeter at the east end of my property. This year I finally had the money to finish the last section along the north and the entire west side of my property. A friend was willing to spend a few days clearing the fence line which was made more difficult because of the fallen cottonwoods in that part of my property. While he cleared the fence line enough to be able to access the fence, when the fencing crew showed up there was more work to be done to actually be able to get the rolls of fence in place and unrolled. This was made more difficult by the fact that the truck couldn’t get to the fence line and the rolls of fencing had to be carried by hand. (A roll of fence is roughly 200 lbs.)

(Forgive the quality of the photos – I was using my phone)

20140720_192244_resized

July in New Mexico is not the best time to fence. The temperatures were miserably high and every time I walked out to check on the progress I was thankful I wasn’t putting up the fence myself. Incredibly, it only took two days to get the braces in, the t-posts set and the wire fence strung. After the crew left this evening, I took the dogs out to walk the fence line.

20140720_192221_resized

20140720_192504(0)_resized

I can now graze sheep in the “non-pasture” areas of my property. With luck the fence will also reduce the number of coyotes dropping in for a chicken dinner.

20140720_191833_resized

At some point I will have to hire someone with a shredder/chipper to clean up the debris.

Leave a Reply

