Be Careful What you Wish for

While I’m waiting for more ewes to lamb I thought I’d dust off some drafts that never made it on the blog.

Last year was an interesting one. New Mexico has been in a drought for several years and it seemed as though there was less and less rainfall with each passing year. The typical summer monsoons were absent and the impact was felt on many levels.

So when it started to rain in early September (2013) at first I was elated. That quickly turned to anxiety and then to dread.

Below is the post from September 10, 2013:

It rained most of today. The frontage road is completely washed out with huge amounts of debris from flash floods. My road is washed out and will also require heavy equipment to repair. The turn from the road onto my drive is gone — I had to leave the car on the side of the road because I couldn’t get off the road to park in front of the gate. Only one side of my gate is functional as the other is buried. I have never before had the top end of my drive under water. The small areas that aren’t underwater are covered in debris. Walking down my drive the water was up to my knees at times. The sheep out in pasture were standing in water up to their bellies. All of the pastures were underwater and for the first time since I moved here, there was water all the way up to the deck. Luckily the house is elevated.

The animal pens to the south of the house flooded, as did the chicken coop and barn to the north of the house. I’ve never before had an issue with flooding, even during the monsoons, this far from the east end of the property (closer to the road)

DSC01931

DSC01929

The second photo is the driveway.

By the time I was able to check on the goats and horse and ensure the house was safe, Tuck and I were not able to find the sheep in the pasture. They had evidently found higher, and hopefully drier, ground in the trees. Since Tuck was literally swimming in sections of the pasture and I couldn’t take a step without getting stuck in the mud underneath the water, I finally gave up on attempting to bring the sheep in for the night and left them where they had evidently found some type of shelter.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Flood Fire Famine and Pestilence « Quibeyn Farm


Leave a Reply

