First Lambs

I borrowed a ram this past fall from a friend to breed my ewes. I bred the ewes about a month later than in past years and calculated the first lambs would be born about the end of February or first of March. However, as the winter progressed I was beginning to doubt that the ewes had been bred as none looked pregnant. The end of January he dropped by to discuss a fencing project and took a look at the ewes. He agreed with me that the ewes really didn’t look pregnant and so we discussed me borrowing the ram back again this spring to breed for fall lambs instead. Within the last two weeks a few of the ewes suddenly started looking pregnant and so I figured that the ram had bred at least some of the ewes but late in his month-long stay so that any lambs would not be on the ground until closer to the end of March. I hadn’t seen any indications that my date estimate was off so I was taken by surprise this morning when I went out to feed and found two small lambs in the night pen.

I moved mom and boys (yes, both are ram lambs*) into the lambing jugs, weighed the lambs and dipped naval cords. All are doing fine. This particular ewe had not started looking pregnant until last week and she certainly didn’t look close to imminent delivery. The past two years she had given me triplets. This year she gave me twins, much smaller than last year’s triplets, at only 7 and 7.5 lbs.

DSC01665 *for those not privy to last year’s lambing news, in 2012 I had 15 lambs. The first nine were all ram lambs and my final total was 12 ram lambs and three ewe lambs.

Leave a Reply

